My own 7 dirty reading secrets

Perhaps they’re not all secrets, but this blogger/author (Rebecca Joines Schinsky) prompted me to make some admissions here. Out loud, so to speak. Some are repetitions of things formerly stated, or maybe ranted about, so I guess it’s more of a for the record situation.

So here goes:

1. I don’t like jumping on reading “band wagons” like Harry Potter, Twilight or the Sookie Stackhouse series.
2. That said, I reluctantly joined The Millennium trilogy and Hunger Games parades. And I loved the True Blood series on HBO.  Watched them all DVD after the fact.
3. I won’t consider a book if I see a number on the cover from being a part of a series. A series is too much of a long-time commitment on my part and usually not worth the effort because of all the copy-catting from previous series.
4. I refuse to try anything by the Bronte sisters or Jane Austen. Wuthering Heights almost killed me in high school, and watching the movie Clueless (before the pre-chewed food craziness) was enough. Victorian romance is just not my thing.
5. I will usually suffer through most any book I start even if I don’t like it, i.e. Anna Karenina. There’s something about getting to the end and knowing what happened. It didn’t matter with The Sun Also Rises. I simply gave up.
6. Much of my reading is about lives in dysfunction. There’s just too much mamby-pamby-everything’s-flowers-and-rainbows-with-fangs crap out there right now. I peruse the darker real side of life, as it’s more gritty and intriguing.
7. I count my son’s books in my total number of books read. It’s admittedly dumb, but I simply like to see that number grow, even with children’s books. The number actually matters to no one but me.

Rebecca Joines Schinsky is the associate editor and community manager of Book Riot and writes at Book Lady’s blog.

original article at Huff Post

5 Comments

Filed under reading, writing

5 responses to “My own 7 dirty reading secrets

  1. midlifemeg

    It’s a shame to lump Harry Potter in with Twighlight…JK Rowling can write, and those books are really good. Maybe when the bandwagon is really gone and your son is old enough to handle them, you can read them with him. They’re worth it. But yeah, most of the book trends are lousy.

    Regarding number 5– I have that, too. Did you read the Tiger’s Wife? I feel like I might give up on that one. But I feel like there might be something wrong with me because it got such glowing praise. Or, it might be the Emperor’s New Clothes scenario…e.g., if you’re smart, you’ll appreciate this one…

    • That’s exactly what I’ve been thinking. He likes adventurous stories and will probably love the HP series. I might even like it if I’d try, because I loved the Chronicles of Narnia. The hype just sticks in my craw for some reason.
      Tiger’s Wife is not something I’ve heard a lot about, though. Funny … I thought you meant “Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother.” Ha! Completely different but yet another perfect example of over-amplified hype, imho.

  2. I feel bad that I never jumped on the Harry Potter bandwagon. I just never got into it, but I can appreciate JK Rowling’s talent. I’m totally all over the Hunger Games bandwagon and I have no idea why. I read Game of Thrones before it became popular, I feel more validated than annoyed that it’s a “thing” now.

  3. if i do join a bandwagon, it’s because the book interests me, not because everybody else is reading it. but I love love loved the harry potter series and the first part of the hunger games so perhaps its not all bad. :)
    and I agree with you on reading about lives in dysfunction. I like to read a lot of novels that have that aspect in it as well.

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays (May 2) | katy brandes writes

Leave a Reply

