Flying – a love story

I’d been there dozens of times within a pensive and longing crowd of kindred souls, but a cloudy memory blends it all together.  We waited in gleeful expectation — a blissful mob.

My senses took over and made my skin involuntarily ripple as she launched from the stage, and my brain willed itself to freeze the next two hours for clearer future recall. With fierce admiration, I swiped at a tear during the piano solo and internally vowed to carry the moment away with me. We left with spirits renewed in a universal sisterhood, our ears ringing and hearts temporarily lightened.

Image

That is the truth about love.

*writing prompts tear & ripple from Studio30Plus

6 Comments

Filed under feminism, life, music, writing

6 responses to “Flying – a love story

  1. Love it Katy! She is awesome & reminds us … we are not broken…just bent . Rock On Sista!

  2. It’s been so long since I’ve attended a concert. Pink is definitely someone I loved to see perform live.

  3. This was cool. At first I thought it was the Cirque du Soleil, then I realized there are no piano solos in the Cirque. Then I thought it was Lady Gaga (because your words expressed how I feel about her.) Now all I know is that I really don’t know celebrities’ faces. Unless their names are George Clooney, or Brad Pitt…

    • P!nk’s show was very much what I imagine a Cirque du Soleil performance must be. Usually I’m so distracted at concerts – worrying about drunken idiots, wondering where the bathroom is, people watching, being crowded. Her show was, instead, enrapturing.

Leave a Reply

