“In Progress” meme

My friend Marie at my cyber house rules nominated me for a special meme, so there’s no way I can refuse her. I say “special” because that’s a great word for her! Marie is a talented writer, photographer, sailor, paddle boarder and Derby Doll. I’ve had the distinct pleasure to know her over the last year or so, and my online life is greatly enriched by her perpetually-happy presence.

The meme centers on the writing process, so here’s my proverbial two cents.

1. What am I working on?

My yet-to-be-revised novel, Her Own Way, began with an idea for NaNoWriMo 2012 and wrapped up during Camp NaNoWriMo last year.  It is a coming-of-age story of two friends who support each other through their first summer living own their own and missteps made along the way.  Certain scenes were created with writing prompts from an online community that Marie actually helps moderate, Studio 30 Plus. The feedback I’ve gained there has helped build my confidence and encourage me to complete this work. Time gets away from me, though, so I am not quite finished with the re-writing process.

Otherwise, I try to blog at least once a week so my stuff doesn’t get stale for my wee little group of followers.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

The most unique feature of my latest work is its basis in reality. Most of the characters I “create” are usually either based on a person I’ve seen or a caricature of someone I know, warts and all. I love people with quirky personalities, so that’s mainly the type of people and situations in my writing.

My blog is full of short stories instigated by some fun prompts from the above-mentioned community. Participating there has also exposed me to the inspirational brilliance among its memberships and also forced me to write when I’m feeling lazy and develop somewhat of my own style. Great motivation.

3. Why do I write what I do?

Some of my stuff, especially on my blog, is regionally based in the Midwest. Basically, I’ve met some very entertaining folks who affect the scenarios I build. Many situations are outlandish but others include every-day happenings – past and present – that are new to a reader with a different upbringing and introduces her/him to a unique perspective. I love to read about places not typical to my background or personal experience, so I hope my stories might reach out to someone else in the same way.

 4. How does your writing process work?

I love to watch the world around me and create characters and craft stories based on eccentricities I see within my immediate environment. My car and purse are full of pens and notepads to jot down ideas that leave me too quickly. There are also times when my writing is a bit more serious if I’ve read something about a subject that draws my ire or concern. So I usually start with that central character, idea or topic about which I am passionate, get the basics down in my cloud drive so I can pull it up from wherever, and finalize the piece after enough time to go back and make sure I’ve said what I want.

 

Tag You’re It!

Lanea created Recipe Records and blogs about Food for Thought, Food for the Soul, Food for the Love of Rock and Roll. We’ve known each other since elementary school, and I’m so glad we stay in touch online.

Paula, of Paula’s Pontifications — Life, Love, Laughter, Longing, has an astounding and inspirational outreach through her book Escaping the Boy and her active blog.

 

Cheers!

 

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to ““In Progress” meme

  1. reciperecords

    Thank you for sharing about yourself Katy and for the nom. I look forward to posting my meme soon! xo

Leave a Reply

