Serendipity

“Circumstances are the rulers of the weak; they are but the instruments of the wise.” — Samuel Lover

Thanks, goodreads. I needed the support today. It’s amazing how my mood can fluctuate from a single mouse click of a one-star reviewer on that site. Sure, it was inevitable that not every reader would like what I produce, but it’s still disheartening to see that one red star virtually lighting up the screen in front of me. Okay, that’s my imagination, but still! The one star simply denotes that a reader did not like it. At least they didn’t say it sucked, and that comment could be yet to come.

Rejection is a part of the process, and I knew it would rear its ugly head. Not everyone likes the same type of story, and each person may have a different opinion than someone else. Keeping criticism in perspective is key, though. An uncomplimentary review is an opportunity to take the opinion into consideration. There might be something to change or tweak.

My style is not for everyone, and genres differ by personal taste. Using the negative to help me improve my writing is what ultimately matters the most.
Time spent contemplating and creating is so positive! There are many joys in life, and being able to freely express myself is truly one of them. Not everyone is going to like what I have to say, but not everyone’s opinion is important to me either. To each their own!

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

