WWW Wednesdays (Mar.21)

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?

I have finally started (and am almost three-fourths through) Into the Wild by Jon Krakuaer.  It is a fascinating, if not uncomfortable, story of a young man’s escapade that lead to his untimely death.  Worth checking out, though.  

• What did you recently finish reading?

Another one that’s been at the top of my “tbr” list for awhile now, but now I’ve finished, is Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood.  Even though I hate to make the comparison, I didn’t like it quite as much as Oryx & Crake.  Who knows, sometimes I change my mind after fully absorbing it later, and I’ll probably read MaddAddam #3 when it’s done.

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Since I have only my Kindle with me today and can’t finish “Into the Wild,” I’ll probably start “Veronika Decides to Die” by Paulo Coelho.  I just found out that it’s the second in a trilogy (what’s up with that?), so I hope it stands alone without having read the first one.
Maybe I will borrow “The Book Thief” on my Kindle soon since I keep bumping it’s #1 slot on my reading list.
Ever thankful to MizB at Should be Reading blog!
14 Comments

Filed under reading

14 responses to “WWW Wednesdays (Mar.21)

  1. Into the Wild sounds intense! o.O I am totally getting a copy of it.

    The Book Thief looks really interesting and the cover’s pretty nice too.

    • Apparently there was a fairly recent movie done of “Into the Wild.” Depressing but very amazing story.

      And I’ve heard sooo many people say they love “The Book Thief.” I’m borrowing it on my Kindle ASAP. 😉

      • I don’t think I’d be able to sit through the film- I’m one of those really annoying weepy people who sobs through anything sad or scary.

        🙂 Are you able to borrow books from your library or are you doing that through a website?

      • I also get that huge lump in my throat, which I hate, just before the tears start to flow. Mainly I borrow books from friends, the library, or my fellow-Kindle-owner friend. She and I have similar book taste, and I borrowed the entire Hunter Games trilogy from her on Kindle!

  2. I haven’t read Into The Wild, but saw the movie and loved it!
    Here’s My WWW

    • I’m making myself read the book first before I rent the redbox. People have suggested reading “127 Hours” before seeing the movie, too. Funny, I can’t get through that movie without cringing and turning it off.

  3. Yeah, I didn’t like Year of the Flood too much, but loved Orxy and Crake.
    Flood seemed a little preachy for me.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/03/www-wednesday_21.html

  4. Kwizgiver

    I didn’t realize Veronika was part of a series, either. Into the Wild was intense, I thought. Will you watch the film?

    • Yes, I saw just yesterday that Veronika is the second in a series. I’m actually looking forward to watching the “Into the Wild” film but will probably get that gut wrenching, sore throat, about-to-cry feeling that always leads me to ask why I put myself through it!

  5. I recently read The Book Thief for my book club. Went into it sure that I would not like it ~ loved it!! Enjoy!

    Thanks for stopping by The Book Bag!

  6. The Book Thief is my “next read,” too. I have it out from the Library on my Kindle.

    I hate to admit it but The Handmaid’s Tale is the only Atwood I’ve read.

    http://planetpooks.com/?p=4219

  7. wcs53

    I haven’t read any of those, although I almost picked up a used copy of Into The Wild recently. I probably should have, because it was 50 cents and it is probably gone by now. Thanks for visiting my blog earlier.

  8. Oooh I just recently bought Veronika Decides to Die. I’ve heard that it works just fine as a stand alone novel just so you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

