WWW Wednesdays (Apr.4)

Recognizing my meme sake – thanks, MizB!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?

Yippee … I’ve finally started  The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  I hope it lives up to (no pun intended, being narrated by Death) all the hype in my head.

Being a lover of audio books for the commute and most things dystopia, I’m also listening to Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler.

• What did you recently finish reading?

My completion of Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coelho has left me wondering is he that great or not.  The book was good enough, and the story was actually very philosophically interesting, but there was a confusing statement at his ending bio.  It led me to believe he might be kind of hateful toward women, and another reviewer on goodreads felt the exact same way.  So I don’t know if I’ll read any more of his work.
• What do you think you’ll read next?

My audio copy of The Outlaw Album: Stories by Daniel Woodrell should come in at the library very soon (*fingers crossed*)!  Somebody else sure has been keeping it checked out for along time, dang it.

5 Comments

Filed under reading

5 responses to “WWW Wednesdays (Apr.4)

  1. I read The Book Thief for my book club and really didn’t want to read it. But I ended up loving it! And so did everyone in the group. I hope you enjoy it too!

    Here’s my WWW

  2. wcs53

    The Book Thief is on one of my reading challenges for this year, so I should get around to it before the year is out. Thanks for visiting my blog earlier.

  3. Hooray! You’ve started The Book Thief. 🙂 I really hope that you enjoy it.

    Was Veronika Decides to Die the first book you’ve read by Paolo Coelho? I’ve read one of his books and am not sure that I’ll be trying anything else by him for a while.

    • I’d previously read The Alchemist and liked it well enough regardless of the woo-woo mysticism I vaguely remember. Not to belabor the point, but the quote I question from the bio was in comparison to Brazil’s military dictatorship. Coelho said it was “not unlike what is happening in the United States today, where a man doesn’t even dare look at a woman without having a lawyer by his side.” Really … the two things can compare? That’s a far stretch for me and annoyed me greatly. Such a broad generalization is so laughable it makes me question what he’s all about.

  4. I’ve not heard of The Book Thief before, and the description on Goodreads sounds intresting, but your comment about it being narrated by Death defiantly makes it sound a lot more appealing to me!

    Thanks for stopping by my bloggy 🙂

    Rie x

    http://riereviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/04/www-what-are-you-reading-wednesday.html

Leave a Reply

