Good Books Every Woman Should Read

Thanks to Megan at love, literature art & reason for inspiring this post (from the article at Huff Post).  There are so many young women out there who would have no idea what some of these books are about.

1. I totally agree with the nomination for The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and call it a “cautionary tale.”  My previous review:

Women who believe in the so-called “traditional” roles of females in society need to read this book. Fatalistic, yes, but scary enough to imagine even in modern times. We should appreciate our freedoms in the U.S. It was a very interesting and important read.

2. An outstanding personal story that has stuck with me for years is Warriors Don’t Cry: The Searing Memoir of the Battle to Integrate Little Rock’s Central High by Melba Patillo Beals.  What amazing strength this young woman showed through her involvement in the America’s 1954 school desegregation process.  No matter what age, women young and old can fight for what’s right!

3. If you ever think you are/were downtrodden as an American woman, read Possessing the Secret of Joy by Alice Walker.  If women don’t support each other, who will?

4. Another more modern example of “Geez, I don’t have it so bad” is offered through The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls.  My previous review:

Disturbing but in a watching-a-train-wreck kind of way. You feel for the kids and can’t stand the parents but almost feel like they are loving in a very twisted sort of way. This a very good book, quick and easy to read, although some situations are hard to fathom.  I’m glad it was recommended to me.

5. Another intriguing fictional “what if” scenario is presented through A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.  True, some women in America are subservient to their husbands and made to cater to their every whim.  Unfortunately, some are beaten into submission.  This story of polygamist torture is so unnerving you feel the pain while reading about it.  We should all experience the vicarious agony these women withstand in order to empathize with them and work for a world in which women are treated fairly as human beings with equal rights.  My previous thoughts:

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Hate to make the comparison, but I liked it even more than The Kite Runner. These characters were drawn so well and are so memorable to me, I rated it as high as my favorite book, To Kill a Mockingbird. The tale of what these two women endured is an incredible statement about the injustice still happening to females in the world today.

I honestly hope young women (and mature ones, too, for that matter) don’t settle for stories of love-struck wonder and fantasy.  Those titles serve their escapist purpose I suppose, but let’s hope they also strive for reaching their intellectual and creative best while nurturing their own self-respect and self-reliance along the way.

6 Comments

Filed under feminism, reading

6 responses to “Good Books Every Woman Should Read

  1. Ahh I love all these books. The Handmaid’s Tale is one of my fav books of all time. I actually liked Kite Runner more than A Thousand Splendid Suns, I thought the actual story was more orginial.

  2. Wonderful reading suggestions with a couple that I will have to put on my list.

    • Hi, Rhonda ~ so happy to see you here! I recently finished “The Silver Star” also by Jeannette Walls, which was very good but nowhere near as moving as her first book. I miss discussing books with you all.

      • Don’t know if you knew I moved to Jeff City about 10 months ago to be closer to my family. I joined the Regional Library Book Club that meets every month. We’re reading “What Alice Forgot” just finished The Great Gatsby. I’ll check into “The Silver Star”. Also enjoyed your list of books every woman should read. There were a couple on the list that I hadn’t read yet so will hope the Library has copies. Glad to hear things are going well for you. Keep writing. You’re going to be one of those fabulous writer friends that will be famous some day..

      • Wow! I don’t know about all that, but your encouragement is greatly appreciated. It’s fun to take part in an online writing community, because it keeps me at it. Otherwise, it’s too easy to just read and envy great writers.
        I knew you had moved and am glad you like it. Good for you for joining a new book club! It’s cool that you aren’t afraid to try new things – best way to meet people, eh? Enjoy and stay in touch!

Leave a Reply

