Pet Peeves

btt button  hosted at Booking Through Thursday

Bookish Sarah says:
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, ‘What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?’ I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.”

What are your literary “pet peeves”?

Something that annoys me is not so much about literature specifically, but about reading in general.  It amazes me when people ask, “How do you find time to read? I’m just too busy!”

My stock answer is that I don’t have time to do everything, just like everyone else, but I make time to read.  I have little time to do things I love, but I make time to do them.  Being an admitted recovering television addict, the pitiful state of viewing choices has helped me to considerably cut down that habit.

There are only two shows I regularly watch now, Big Bang Theory (shamefully shaking my head at watching anything Lee Ahronson writes) and New Girl.  Otherwise, I find this time in television history to be a painfully weak one with tired genres being feverishly and unsuccessfully re-worked, little writing creativity, and too much misogyny in storylines and jokes (*sniff sniff* I miss you Modern Family).

Fortunately for me, though, I currently have more time to practice yoga, enjoy the limitless number of good books out there, and use more of the treasure trove of materials collecting dust in my craft room.

I say to everyone who asks, you have to make the time if it’s important enough to you.

What’s your “bookish” pet peeve?

9 Comments

Filed under reading

9 responses to “Pet Peeves

  1. Katy, thanks for stopping by my blog today! I always say people make time for what they want to make time for. If someone truly wanted to have time to read or do whatever activity they would find a way to make it happen. P.S. I love Big Bang Theory!

  2. I totally agree about the TV viewing selections…and also, that we MAKE time for the things we love.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love The Big Bang Theory, too. I also hate when people act like I must not have a life since I read so much (and now have time to blog, too). I think priorities are the only difference, not amount of time!

  4. I’m lucky enough to be able to take public transportation to work instead of driving. Burying my nose in a book makes the ride shorter and sooo more enjoyable!

  5. Making time is important. I normally do most of my reading at night right before bed. If it’s important to you, you’ll make time for it.

    Thanks for stopping by and happy reading.

  6. Elsi

    Welcome to BTT. I’m with you on making time to read. I do a lot of my reading in the small cracks of time that many people wouldn’t think of. For example, when I take a bathroom break at work, I grab my book and read all the way down the hall, while I’m in the bathroom, and on the way back to my desk. Though I might only read 4 or 5 pages, I’m still making progress through a book I enjoy.

  7. you cut out Modern Family?? oh noo 😦 haha. but good girl. I am still a television addict, though I have become much better. I love your answer and admittedly it’s something I need to work on.. making more time to do the things that I love. i hope you have a wonderful week.
    i look forward to reading more from you! i like your blog

    • Thanks, Aspen!
      It just seemed the writers keep making more overt jokes at the expense of women (a whole episode about periods?), and I had read an article that pointed out how stereotyped each character is/was. It’s pubescent boy humor. The final straw for me was when Gloria was calling for Claire’s campaign & asked to have a camera set up so people could see how she looks to win their vote. Then again, Chuck Lorre writes for Modern Family & 2 1/2 Men – perhaps the most sexist show on the tube (pre- & post-Chuck Sheen).
      I’m sad, though, because I loved Modern Family at first!

Leave a Reply

