Musing Mondays (Apr.30)

This week’s musing asks…

Do you listen to audiobooks? If not, why not? And, if so, what has been one of your favorites, so far?

Audiobooks are great for the commute to work, so YES I listen to books on CD.  My job doesn’t require a lot of travel, but the drive is certainly better when listening to a book.  There’s no way to name just one, so I’ll mention a few here.

I especially like it when the author is also the narrator – thank you, Augusten Burroughs.  His books Dry, A Wolf at the Table and Possible Side Effects are especially good on CD.  The author’s personality came through so well in his narration that I could hear a million of his memoirs, and that’s about how many there are. 🙂

The same goes for Neil Gaiman, but even more so because his accent is awesome.  I’ve listened to Coraline, The Graveyard Book and Neverwhere.  He is absolutely awesome!

My favorite, though, has to be David Sedaris.  Anything David Sedaris!  He is hilarious and his books are hilarious, but hearing him read them is even better with his distinctive voice.  It’s right up there with hearing him speak in person or on This American Life on NPR.  If you’ve never heard it, google The Santaland Diaries.  You will not be disappointed!

Thanks again, MizB at shouldbereading.

4 Comments

Filed under reading

4 responses to “Musing Mondays (Apr.30)

  1. I haven’t tried audiobooks but I thinks it’s a good idea. According to one of the blogs I follow, it is way to read more books. With audio books, you can read while doing other tasks 🙂

    • It is definitely a way to get through more books, especially if you drive long distances. It’s always good to pick ones that are completely differently than what you’re actually reading, though, so you don’t mix up the characters or plot lines in your mind. At least in my feeble mind anyway!

  2. midlifemeg

    Thank you for this post! I like audio books, but I have a pretty low tolerance for the people they get to read them…most of them have annoying mannerisms that drive me nuts so I can’t listen. I specifically recall one narrator who paused dramatically and greatly emphasized the word AND everywhere it occurred. I wanted to find her and punch her. Anyway, it will be great to find some where the author is the reader and is good at it! I will try David Sedaris for sure. (Have you read Amy Sedaris’ book? It’s great!)

    I have a recommendation for you: The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. I laughed; I cried; I sat in my car for way longer than necessary.

    • Sometimes those annoying narrators ruin what could have been a good book. I mentioned Augusten Burroughs, and his narration almost stopped me from finishing “Wolf at the Table” because of his weird dramatic inflection at the beginning. It was worth waiting out, though.
      David’s book are hilarious, though not for everyone’s taste, but I haven’t tried anything written by his sister. I’ll have to check that out along with Stein’s book. Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

