WWW Wednesdays (9th May)

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…  

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

I am about to finish listening to Octavia E. Butler’s science fiction work, Parable of the Talents , the follow-up to her Parable of the Sower.  The protagonist, Lauren Olamina, is a character of great strength and commitment to her beliefs.  All skeptical feminists like me should read both these books as a forewarning of future catastrophic possibilities (only half kidding).  

My most recently finished book is Different Seasons by Stephen King.  I’ll call it done, even though I’m on the final story in the foursome, My Breathing Method.  The others, The Body, Apt Pupil and Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption were all fascinating in their own right.  King at his best!

A title long on my “tbr” list is what I’m reading now, The Outlaw Album: Stories, by Daniel Woodrell.  I’m more of a full-length novel type of reader, but I’ve been liking story compilations lately.  Woodrell has a gift for that format and is now one of my favorite authors, regardless of his fictionalization of the Ozarks as a dismal abyss (only half kidding there, too).  His dark, twisted humor makes it extremely worthwhile.

Now … if only I could quit taking on three books at a time, maybe I would get through them quicker!

This lovable meme is courtesy of the incomparable MizB at Should be Reading and linked to through She Loves Reading.

7 Comments

Filed under reading

7 responses to “WWW Wednesdays (9th May)

  1. Oh, yes, that’s classic King 🙂

  2. The Outlaw Album sounds good, i’ll have to check it out 🙂

  3. Kwizgiver

    I enjoyed that King book, too, he’s such an amazing storyteller!

  4. “Parable of the Talents” sounds really good!

  5. Thanks for stopping by The Book Bag! Sounds like there are a lot of SK lovers out there. He is an amazing storyteller.

Leave a Reply

