Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

Image

This week’s topic was originally Authors I’d Like To See on a Reality Show, but it was turned into a freebie topic because of the difficulty level. I followed Megan’s lead to do an older topic from a previous Top 10.

1. The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan

It’s supposed to be the first word and manifesta of the feminist fight, and I can’t believe I haven’t gone there yet!

2. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

We live in Missouri, and I have a young son.  This is probably an inevitability.

3. The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

So many women claim to love this re-telling of Biblical women and their stories or at least claim they want to read it if they haven’t.  I’m still undecided.

4. Beloved by Toni Morrison

The main character, Sethe, sounds a bit like Precious in Push.  Many people say it’s a pretty weird one, but maybe I’d like it.

5. Couldn’t Keep it to Myself: Wally Lamb & the Women of York Correctional Institution by Wally Lamb

Two subjects that fascinate me … writing and imprisonment.  I can’t imagine these women’s deep feelings of loss brought on by incarceration, so I’m very intrigued by the subject.

6. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Isn’t this one considered a “classic?”  So many people gasp when I say I haven’t read and tell me how I should, so maybe I’ll try it one day.  I should do so considering it was in a box an old apartment neighbor gave me when his roommate skipped out and left a bunch of stuff.

7. East of Eden by John Steinbeck

Once again, several people have asked me why I’ve never read this one.  Heck, I’ve never even seen the movie.  Steinbeck is great, I suppose, but Cannery Row was so depressing.  Maybe there’s no comparison.

8. As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner

As much as I am loving “country noir” lately, I’ve got to give this great 20th century classic a try.  Okay, okay … I just added it to my “tbr” list.

9. Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank

As much as I like post-apocalyptic darkness (lol), I can’t believe I’ve yet to read the epitome of the genre.  Especially with such a chilling premise.

10. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

There must be something to all the fuss.  I like a good dystopian tale.  Even though it’s as thick as a brick, I may give it a look someday.

And the list continues to grow!

Meme hosted by The Broke & the Bookish and linked through from Megan’s blog at Love, Literature, Art & Reason.

9 Comments

Filed under reading

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

  1. I hated “As I Lay Dying”. I read it for a lit class in high school. It’s written in stream-of-consciousness by multiple characters, including a young boy who has delusions that his mother is a fish. In fact, I can still quote an entire chapter: “My mother is a fish.” So, it may be a classic, but I certainly wouldn’t recommend it. Maybe you’ll have better luck with it than I did.

    • Yikes, it rates a “hate!” I hated “The Grapes of Wrath,” so now I’m second-guessing this one. 🙂

      • If you’ve heard good things about it and want to read, I’d say give it a go. But if I were you, I wouldn’t have very high expectations of it. I truly did hate it, and I don’t hate (especially books) easily. But, maybe I was just a stupid teenager who wasn’t fully able to appreciate it. 🙂

  2. midlifemeg

    Katy! The Red Tent is GREAT. Rich in fascinating historical/ cultural details and a great story to boot. Decide to read that! And John Steinbeck is a great writer with dreadfully depressing stories. They all make me want to die. Forget it. That’s my two cents. I know everyone was waiting to hear it. 😉

  3. Great list, although if there was a ever book I hated… it is As I Lay Dying. Never again will I even LOOK at a Faulkner novel. I HATED it. haha. But as far as the others go, some of them are on my list as well. I loved Atlas Shrugged, even though it is frequently criticized. It still has a high place on my list of books I loved.

  4. Alas, Babylon is a fabulous book. I’ve read it several times. My poor paperback copy is bruised and battered. You should give it a try.

    I have to agree with Megan – hated As I Lay Dying.

    Great list.

  5. You definitely need to read Tom Sawyer. It’s wonderful. Well, Mark Twain is wonderful. You should seriously consider reading The Great Gatsby – it is a classic, although I can’t say I loved it (didn’t hate it either). I hated Beloved. Sincerely despised it. I can’t even recommend giving it a try.

  6. Ah, The Great Gatsby. My daughter just finished that one. Although it starts a bit slow, it does pick up 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my Top Ten.

Leave a Reply

