Can you imagine?

Second only to growing a tiny human being inside my body, I bet getting published and selling a story for filming has to feel incredible.  Elation.

I participate in a group called Apocalypse Whenever on goodreads.  What a relief to discover other twisted people out there like me who enjoy end-of-world stories a little too much.  No longer will I think I’m the only freak who likes a good tale of humanity’s destruction.  I’ll cease to hide my desensitization via over-consumption of ’70s and ’80s media.  There are other people to celebrate it with me!

One of the author/participants in the group, Hugh Howey, has recently signed on with Random House UK and 20th Century Fox.  The cover of his book, Wool, caught my eye when recommended by other readers in the group.  He has an eloquence with language and a knack for description.  His website graphic is also eerily magnetic.  Quite a creative guy.

The other PA group members offered differing perspectives on some aspects I missed in the first and second books.  It’s good to have a peek from another reader’s point of view instead of only my own mind’s eye.

So part of my summer reading is mapped out.  I plan to finish the Wool series, look forward to the sixth installment, and then the big-screen version.  Hard to imagine.  Now there’s a fisheye lens!

My workaday greeting of, “Good morning/afternoon, XYZ Company, how may I help you” seems even more pathetic now.  But I’m not bitter.  Reading about Howey’s success motivates me to worry less about inconsequential matters and get to work on a new story of my own.

Hugh seems like a common enough fella, in a para-social relationship sort of way, who pops into the Apocalypse Whenever discussion now and then.  He started out self-publishing through Kindle and has moved on to bigger and better things.  I’m glad to see an indie author get the recognition he has surely worked long and hard to accomplish.

Maybe publishing and filming deals aren’t the end all, be all, but  … no, they probably are.  Good on ya, Hugh!

4 Comments

May 21, 2012 · 5:46 pm

4 responses to “Can you imagine?

  1. Thanks, Katy! I’m more than a little humbled and flattered by the mention. And while the deals are nice, I still write for the same reason I imagine you write: Because it’s addicting. Because we can’t stop.

    Cheers, and all the best with your new story. 🙂

  2. Win

    Hugh, you forgot to mention your reader fans hounding you! And Katy, I just 1-clicked Contained. Looking forward to reading it.

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays (May 2) | katy brandes writes

Leave a Reply

