A small triumph!

It takes so little to make me ecstatically happy in life.  I try to go by the motto, “There’s nothing more to happiness than having something to look forward to.”  Even with the sentence ending in a preposition, it’s a good mantra.  The saying has gotten me through some rough moments.

Yesterday’s mail delivery sent me into exhilaration mode, though.  I received my first royalty check from Amazon for my e-book/novella, Contained!  It’s not so much a nerd’s euphoria, but I’m very pleased with the wee little amount of money from sales so far.  Amazon KDP apparently pays out ever six months — as long as there are some sales.  Fortunately, I’ve had a few now.

She thought they were the only survivors.

It’s a humble beginning, and I hope there are future royalties.  Topping my wish list, though, are more ideas for stories to come.  Writing inspiration and many future works are definitely things to which I can certainly look forward!

8 Comments

Filed under writing

8 responses to “A small triumph!

  1. Congrats! I’m so happy for you. It’s wonderful to have things to look forward to. I totally agree. =)

  2. Congratulations! What a wonderful gift to receive in the morning mail 🙂 I’ll definitely be checking out your book!

  3. midlifemeg

    Congratulations! I’m excited for you and respect your self-publishing cojones! I just finished editing a YA Novel and the author is trying traditional publishing efforts, but will most likely self-publish in the fall if she doesn’t get any bites. So I love to hear about the process and how it’s worked for others. I need to get an e-reader and get your book!

  4. Congratulations, I’m so happy for you. 😄
    Hope you get all the ideas you wish for!

  5. Thanks everyone! It’s nice to think it’s not all for naught. You have to start somewhere, eh?

  6. I’m so happy for you Katy! I’m sure that in the future you’ll be famous here in Italy too! ^_^

    p.s. I got the “best commenter” award, which I have to pass on to my top 5 commenters, and you are one of them! ^_^ ♥
    You can find out more about it here: http://www.peekabook.it/2012/06/new-award-to-peek-book.html

Leave a Reply

