WWW Wednesdays (June 13)

Thanks to MizB at Should be Reading for this weekly meme!

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…                                     

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?  

What are you currently reading?

A short book I’ve borrowed from a friend is 420 Characters by Lou Beach.  It began as a project from Facebook “status” posts (hence, 420 characters).  Very clever concept.

Embarrassing to say, but I’m also still reading We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver (heavy and slow) and listening to Sellevision by Augusten Burroughs.

What did you recently finish reading?

As per my previous shame-faced admission, I count children’s books in my overall read “count.”  Instead of regurgitating what I said last week, I’ll thrown in a couple kid titles.  My son and I just finished reading The Adventures of Baby Jaimie: Baby Jaimie Gets Stage Fright by Leigh Anne Lagoe and The Sneezing Christmas Tree, which were both cute little bits o’ fluff read with a five-year-old.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Even though my current “tbr” list stood at 420 (how serendipitous), I just added Smoke & Mirrors by Neil Gaiman when I picked it up at the library today.  He’s one of my faves!  So I will most likely start on it next.

Looks like Uglies by Scott Westerfeld is going on the back burner.  There’s, unfortunately, a pattern building here.

12 Comments

Filed under reading

12 responses to “WWW Wednesdays (June 13)

  1. Smoke and Mirrors is on my TBR list, too, I think. In my opinion, though I loved Uglies, the rest of the series I hated, so I would just leave it on the back burner forever. haha. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. A lot of great books here. I’m also a fan of Gaiman, though I’ve only read Neverwhere and The Graveyard Book. I am also interested in The Uglies series. And I didn’t know We Need to Talk about Kevin was a book. I just saw the movie starring Tilda Swinton and John C. Reilly about a week ago. It was powerful, but I admit a little slow at times because of the way it jumps all over the place through time.

    Thanks for visiting my blog! It’s always nice to have new visitors!

  3. Hi, I have a www post too, and your list of book, i am not familiar with, but will check them out, as I am curious, lol, http://concisebookreviewsbymichelle.blogspot.com/2012/06/www-wednesdays-613-find-out-what-i-am.html

  4. Hi my friend! 🙂
    These all look like really good books. I will have to look into them 🙂

    You can find my W.W.W. here:
    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/06/www-wednesdays-june-13.html

    Happy reading!

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

  5. I need to read Uglies, and I have yet to read anything by Neil Gaiman, though I hear his stuff is good. Enjoy reading your books!

  6. Kwizgiver

    I like the premise of 420 Characters!

  7. Hope you enjoy the Gaiman – I need to read more by him as I’ve only read Neverwhere which was so good.

  8. Sometimes its really hard to resist the lure of shiny new books I hope that you enjoy your new Gaiman book. =)

  9. Hope you enjoy Smoke and Mirrors. I really liked it (although I’m generally a Gaiman fan). 420 Characters sounds interesting.
    The Sneezing Christmas Tree sounds so adorable!

  10. 420 Characters sounds intriguing. I will have to check it out. And there is no shame in reading/counting children’s books – I love them! I never thought about counting the ones I read to my grand-kids. Now there’s a thought. Thanks for stopping by The Book Bag!

  11. Too bad about Uglies, I really enjoyed it, and it was fun to read! Hope you enjoyed all your books! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

