Why I blog – “The Addictive Blog” award

Image I think it’s okay to have healthy little addictions, so having someone supposedly addicted to your blog seems pretty healthy to me!  It was great to be nominated for an “Addictive Blog” award by Paula at Paula’s Pontifications.  Her blog is relatively new to me, but I’m glad to have found it.  She is also an indie writer and fellow yoga enthusiast who has some great insight.

Award Rules:

  1. Thank the person awarding you.
  2. Share a little about why you blog and how the journey started.
  3. Paste the blog award on your page.
  4. Nominate 10 other bloggers you feel deserve the award.

Why I Blog:

My first blog entry on Blogger was back in June of last year after a narcissistic co-worker wanted to share her world with everyone. That act spurred me to ask myself in a self-centered inner voice, “Why not?” There were only a few friends who ever read my writing there, specifically the few who encouraged me to pursue it. That blog remains active, but I save it for my more personal rants. I usually comment on absurdities around me such as gender discrimination, especially as represented through various media, and other women’s issues. It is also a place to follow suggestions of the writers at MissRepresentation.com who promote women supporting each other instead of breaking one another down, which helped me create my weekly gratitude meme.

This blog was instigated by the release of my first novella, Contained, last year in my wee attempt at self-promotion. I also wanted a venue through which to talk about reading and writing in general, two of my great passions. While it’s nice to have other people react to my writing, it’s also fun to interact with other avid readers and indie authors who share my challenges and help encourage me to continue writing.

I’m Addicted to these Blogs:

The Solipsistic Me

blue milk

Peggy Isaacs

Melanie Crutchfield

Whimsically Yours

A Day Without Sushi

MasculinityU

Views from the Couch

Left at the Lights

Synthesist Chronicles

(notifications to be sent later)

4 Comments

Filed under feminism, reading, writing

4 responses to “Why I blog – “The Addictive Blog” award

  1. Awww…thanks, Katy! That makes me smile.

  2. Katy,
    I am exceedingly honored! I never know how to respond because I’m not sure I ever feel quite worthy. The one thing I feel compelled to say is that social justice cannot happen without people like you, Katy! I’m always so grateful for your comments and support. I will pay this forward. Many thanks, Michael.

  3. Pingback: “The Addictive Blog” Award « Whimsically Yours

  4. Pingback: Things I learned this week…and last « Peggy Isaacs

Leave a Reply

