www Wednesday (Oct. 10)

This is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the sensational, MizB, at Should be Reading.  To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 What are you currently reading?

The audio book I’m listening to right now is Watership Down by Richard Adams.  It’s widely considered a children’s classic, but I’ve never read it.  Listening to it read in a great British accent is even better.  It’s about a community of rabbits, and many people call it an allegory of society although the author denies that claim.  

What did you recently finish reading?

Finally … finally, I’m finishing A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.  Considering I don’t like love stories or vampires, it wasn’t bad.  The heroine could have/should have been stronger and not relied on her dark love interest so much in my opinion, so that lowered my opinion of it considerably.  It would take too much energy to continue the series.

I also finished a book club pick, Moloka’i, by Alan Brennert. It was a much more enjoyable reading experience than I anticipated, although it based on a great historical American tragedy about how people were ostracized for illness and was very heartbreaking as a result.

What do you think you’ll read next?

My book club is reading Under the Banner of Heaven by John Krakauer next, and I’m looking forward to it very much.  It sounds like religious zealotry at its most horrible.  This is by the author of Into the Wild, so I hope it’s all I’m cracking it up to be.

What are you reading?  Join in and post your list at the original meme.   Happy reading!

2 Comments

October 10, 2012 · 10:54 pm

2 responses to “www Wednesday (Oct. 10)

  1. I have Watership Down on my TBR, its one of thise books that i havent yet got around to reading! Hope your enjoying it 🙂

Leave a Reply

