Reading Challenge 2013

Image

lolroflmao.com

Time to think about the new year and all it may bring.  Even at midnight on NYE I was reading and thinking about what I want to read this year.  Okay, I was also watching a Twilight Zone marathon.  According to a summary on my much beloved Goodreads community, I read 81 books last year. Originally cast at 75 books, it was elating to pass that mark by six.  A new goal can only go up, so I plan to read at least 100 books this year.  My adrenaline’s building, and I feel up to this herculean (at least for me) task!

I’ve also joined in the Women’s Challenge posed by a blogger friend, Valentina, at her peek a book blog.  She’d noticed how few female authors’ works were on her “read” list, and I realized the same for myself.  While I am one to always support another woman and at least try a writer’s work to form my own opinion, there are more male writers on my list than I realized.  Get it together, everyone, and join the challenge, too!

3 Comments

Filed under reading

3 responses to “Reading Challenge 2013

  1. Update: 10 books by female authors read so far (past the halfway mark)

    Why Have Kids?: A New Mom Explores the Truth About Parenting & Happiness by Jessica Valenti
    Bossypants by Tina Fey
    The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
    The Snow Child by Eowyn by Ivey
    Suri the Sea Lion by Laura Yirak
    Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
    The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel.Barbery
    State of Wonder by Ann Patchett
    The Lathe Of Heaven by Usula K. LeGuin

    Now reading The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee by comic Sarah Silverman

  2. Hi Katy!
    I’ve also read “The Elegance of the Hedgehog” a few years ago and I loved it, did you like it? Have you ever seen the movie? It’s good 😉
    Good luck with the final part of the challenge! ^_^

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

Leave a Reply

