www Wednesday (January 2)

This is a weekly reading meme hosted by MizB at Should be Reading. Join in the fun by linking your list back to hers.   Image

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

My pick for January bookclub is How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran.  A reader must be able to handle the raunch factor (think British Chelsea Handler), but it’s worth it.  This author/comedienne is something else!

Another one I’ve finally started that’s otherwise been sitting on my Kindle waiting to be read is Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonegut.  My other two experiences with his work have not been great, but I think we’ve reached a happy turning point.

What did you recently finish reading?

It takes a little fictional disconnect to finish Girlchild: A Novel by Tupelo Hassman, but it’s well worth it. I read it in no time at all, and my four-star review is on goodreads.  Perhaps it’s odd that I like something this dark so much, but it makes me realize that we may not know about other people’s lives, and why we should care.

I’m also finishing Wolf Hall by Hilary Mandel no matter what, damn it!

What do you think you’ll read next?

With such great deals on Amazon lately, I couldn’t resist buying Why Have Kids?: A New Mom Explores the Truth about Parenting and Happiness by Jessica Valenti (omg, for only $2). The introduction gives no indication that it’s against having kids but more a feminist look at societal pressure on being perfect when it’s virtually impossible to do so. I love Jessica Valenti’s work, both her writing and activism.

The audio version of The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Luis Zafon is waiting for me at the library now … can’t wait!

What have you been reading? Post your list and link back to MizB’s blog.

7 Comments

Filed under reading

7 responses to “www Wednesday (January 2)

  1. Zafon’s “Shadow” is one of my favorite reads! I hope you enjoy it.

  2. Kwizgiver

    I’ve got Zafon’s books but haven’t read them yet. I’ve heard such good things about them!

  3. Oh I keep meaning to read Shadow, but well, you know how it goes… I am going to have to look for How to be a Woman – sounds like fun! I read Cat’s Cradle in high school – I remember liking it…but I don’t remember much about it! have fun on that ride! 🙂

  4. I love British humour, raunchy or not. You’ve tempted me!

  5. I love talking books.

    I am currently reading Night Circus.
    I just finished The Snow Child. (5 stars!)
    Next, I plan on reading Gone Girl.

    Linking over from one of my favs, My Pixie Blog.

    • Thanks for visiting! I loved the Night Circus, even more so afterward than when I was reading it. The Snow Child and Gone Girl are both on my ever-growing “to be read” list.

  6. How To Be A Woman sounds really interesting and definitely worth checking out. :]

    My WWW Wednesday

Leave a Reply

