www Wednesday (January 23rd)

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme held over on Should be Reading. To play along just answer the following questions.

What are you currently reading?

My audio experience with Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Luis Za’fon has been a good one, and I’m almost done with it.  Highly recommend!

What did you recently finish reading?

I am finishing How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran and love what she has to say.  Any feminist “worth her salt” (as Moran would say) should read this book!  I think she’s a happy British mix of Chelsea Handler and David Sedaris.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe is my book club’s next pick. Our friend Kay gave us all a copy for Christmas, so we’re reading it together for February.  It’s about a son’s experience getting to know his mother better through their mutual love of reading that they discuss while she lay dying of cancer.  I know I’m gonna cry my eyes out.

What are you reading?  Join in the fun of this meme and let us all know!

6 Comments

Filed under reading

6 responses to “www Wednesday (January 23rd)

  1. I love that this WWW thing introduces me to books I otherwise would never have heard of . . . I just put How to Be a Woman at the top of my list! Thanks 🙂

    • Cool! Hope you like it. Keep in mind that Moran is a bit raunchy but in what I consider a good way. She goes about truisms in an ironic way that is brutally honest, showing how we women are sometimes our own worst enemies. I can’t wait to read her new one, “Moranthology,” since I’ve never had the pleasure of reading her past British columns.

      • I don’t mine raunchy 😛

        I’m hoping to hit the book store (either brick & mortar or online) sometime in the next week or two. I’ll let you know what I think when I get it and read it 🙂

      • A good thing about both Moran books is the relatively low e-price of $8. And I get what you mean about Vonnegut’s conversational style and tangents. I guess I’ve always thought there was some giant political point that was going right over my head, besides the obvious ones in Slaughterhouse Five. The only others I’ve read are Breakfast of Champions and Cat’s Cradle.

  2. deb

    hey katy,
    can you forgive me for taking 6 months to post my liebster award?!?! part of the trouble was that many of the blogs i read are “out of my league” so to speak. i wanted to nominate cool deserving blogs, but had to find them first! anyway, thanking you again and letting you know i finally posted it (along with another).

    as for your www meme – i don’t know how you keep up with all the reading! i’m always so impressed. i’ve been reading barbara kingsolver’s Flight Pattern since i got it at christmas – i never have time to read until it’s so late i fall asleep! i’ve been wanting to read the Moran. glad you liked it. that will motivate me! 🙂

    • Deb – I’m just happy you wanted to do the Liebster Award response!
      My weekly www meme overlaps A LOT, because it takes me longer than it seems to finish a book. Problem is, I’m usually trying to read two or three at the same time. You should definitely try Moran’s. I was suspicious first but ended up liking it. Of course, I don’t agree with everything she says, just like I feel about Jessica Valenti, but I’m glad both of them have feminist work out there.

Leave a Reply

