www Wednesday (January 30)

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?www_wednesdays

Please link your post back to MizB at Should be Reading, who started this great meme!

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe was a gift from a book club friend of mine.  The author writes in memory of his late mother whose end of life he shared while discussing books and feelings about life.

What did you recently finish reading?

Why Have Kids?: A New Mom Explores the Truth about Parenting and Happiness by Jessica Valenti is exactly what the title claims it to be.  It’s her research-based, scathing, look at all the gender-based stereotypes about modern motherhood based on outdated expectations.  She uses a lot of information about parents’ and children’s satisfaction levels, as well as statistics about “non-traditional” families in relation to children’s welfare, based on scientific studies.  Keep in mind, it’s not as boring as that description sounds.  I liked it very much.  Granted, Valenti is one of my feminist heroines.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m hoping to read Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood (I’m a big fan) if I can figure out how to transfer it to my Kindle. It’s supposedly “checked out” to me through the local library system, but I’m having trouble accessing it. (?)

3 Comments

Filed under reading

3 responses to “www Wednesday (January 30)

  1. I wish I could figure out the library kindle lending thing! Maybe you have to have them on your approved list of senders? That’s the extent of my “help” haha. The Why Have Kids book sounds interesting! I will have to check it out at some point. Thanks for swinging by my WWW! 🙂

  2. I have only read The Handmaid’s Tale by Atwood. I probably need to read more of her stuff. =) Thanks for stopping by! I’ve heard great things about the End of your Life Bookclub!

Leave a Reply

