www Wednesday (February 6)

www_wednesdaysTo play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

A reading meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.

What are you currently reading?

I’m continuing the Silo saga by reading the prequel First Shift – Legacy (Wool #6) by Hugh Howey.  Yes, I’ve bragged about the series here quite enough already.  Suffice to say, it’s an intriguing futuristic “what if” told from a before-the-apocalypse point of view.  And I’m still at the beginning of The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe.

What did you recently finish reading?

Hearing Neil Gaiman interviewed on NPR recently piqued my interest in reading two of his children’s books, The Wolves in the Walls and The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish.    He has become one of my favorite authors in the last year or more, so I tried out Odd and the Frost Giants with my five-year old son.  That was a hit, but these two titles not so much, although I enjoyed them.  Gaiman says kids are braver than adults and doesn’t believe “scary” stories affect them the way adults fear they will.  I hope they think, like he claims, that they can conquer the bad guys or monsters and not just get freaked out by the stories.

What do you think you’ll read next?

It’s probably a good idea to go ahead with Second Shift – Order (Wool #7) while the silo story line is still fresh in my mind.  Howey is set to release the next (maybe the last) in the series this year.

What you are reading?  Join the fun and post your list back on MizB’s thread!

10 Comments

Filed under reading

10 responses to “www Wednesday (February 6)

  1. Kwizgiver

    I haven’t heard of any of those books. But they look like fun, especially the Gaiman kids books!

    (and Jenny Lawson does read her audiobook)

  2. I’ve never read anything by Neil Gaiman, but I recently added Anansi Boys to my list. The episode of Doctor Who that he wrote is one of my favorites and I watched his commencement speech from The University of the Arts and just fell in love with him . . . . Now you’re inspiring me to add his children’s books to my daughter’s library!

  3. I love Neil Gaiman! I have been thinking about rereading The Sandman series…AV Club recently did that and it made me want to dust them off – I agree with Gaiman about the kids and books, but not when they are turned into movies. Coraline scared the heck out of my nieces when we saw it in the theatre!
    http://lostinsidethecovers.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/www-wednesdays-feb-6th/

    • He is great, eh? I had yet to read The Sandman series and only listened to Coraline on audio and can understand how it could be scary. Apparently there is a movie being made of The Graveyard Book – can’t wait!

  4. I have not heard of the Silo Saga! I definitely need to check it out. I’ve heard good things about The End of Your Life Book Club and I love Neil Gaiman’s stuff, too. Great picks this week! Thanks for stopping by!
    Megan @ Love, Literature, Art, and Reason

    • You should definitely check out hughhowey.com. He has many other short works, all of which are very low-priced on Amazon. It’s great because he was an indie author who’s hit it big. The silo series is to be made into a movie by Ridley Scott. So cool!

  5. Susan @ The Book Bag

    Hi Katy – After looking at your WWW post, I realized that I have not read a book by Neil Gaiman and I have been seeing his name everywhere. I really need to check out his books. Thanks for stopping by The Book Bag!

Leave a Reply

