www Wednesdays (Feb.20)

This little diddy is hosted by MizB at Should be Reading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions:

www_wednesdays

• What are you currently reading? 

• What did you recently finish reading? 

What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? 

Now I’m on the next-to-the-last in the Silo pre-quels with Hugh Howey’s Second Shift – Order (Wool #7).  It’s been a long journey, even if I did like the first of the series better.  I am finally starting to get into The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe that is our next book club pick, although it’s been slowing going.  Anyone who has read my list during the last month is probably thinking, “Finish it already!”

What did you recently finish reading?

I’m on the last disc of listening to The Bell Jar by Slyvia Plath and so will call it done.  The book is pretty much what I’ve heard, at least as far as evoking emotion in reaction to Esther’s pain, so I can now appreciate what others have claimed it to be.

What do you think you’ll read next? 

We’re supposed to get bad weather, so I may start Tinkers by Paul Harding if the power and the charge on my Kindle go out indefinitely.  If the electricity holds up, I may listen to Snow Child by Paul Harding since I have it checked out from the library.

What are you reading?  Share it here or link back to the original post.  Join us!

10 Comments

Filed under reading

10 responses to “www Wednesdays (Feb.20)

  1. Kwizgiver

    I’ve got Snow Child on my nook, just haven’t gotten to it yet. 🙂

  2. The Bell Jar is such a favorite of mine. Glad you liked it! I’ve heard good things about Snow Child! Enjoy your reads. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. wcs53

    The End of Your Life Book Club intrigues me and I’ve always wondered about reading The Bell Jar. Thanks for stopping by my WWW post and happy reading.

  4. I really want to read The Bell Jar – maybe that could be my quarterly classic 🙂 I need to check out Snow Child…great list and good luck with the weather!

  5. I think I have The Wool series (or at least the first book) on my Goodreads queue…and I think I added it from reading about it on your blog some time ago…

    I’ve never read the Bell Jar, and can honestly say I don’t know what it’s about (is that a gasp-worthy comment?), so I don’t know if it’s something I’m going to read; I guess I should check it out.

    • I guess many people read it in high school, and the main character is a young woman who can’t handle her mounting problems with no coping skills. The time frame left her more hopeless and helpless than she might have been today, but her experience was probably pretty common for that period. It’s sad to think she could’ve/should’ve gotten more help, which is perhaps a universal issue.

  6. Plath is one of way too many authors I only know by name and a few bullet points about her life. I keep meaning to change that.

Leave a Reply

