www Wednesday (May 8)

This is a weekly meme hosted  at Should be Reading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?

www_wednesdays• What did you recently finish reading?

• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

Having perhaps previously set the bar for all future post-apocalyptic stories, I am currently reading Earth Abides by George R. Stewart.  It is barely dated from its 1949 copyright.

Our current book club read is State of Wonder by Ann Patchett, which I am enjoying on CD.  Its premise is not one I would usually pursue — a doctor’s death in the Amazon jungle is investigated by his colleague — so I’m glad being in a reading group broadens my choices.

What did you recently finish reading?

Long ago a friend recommended The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz, which I just finished reading and liked very much. It was a bittersweet story of a kind-hearted misfit.

I also just finished The 25th Hour by David Benioff and loved it!  There is a movie version with Edward Norton as the main character, Monty, who is in on the verge of seven years in prison.  Norton’s face was my mental image throughout the whole book, which was definitely not a bad thing.  I loved the book and guiltily loved Monty’s bad boy persona.

What do you think you’ll read next?

In staying along the same old post-apoc vein, I’d like to read Ursula Le Guin’s The Lathe of Heaven next.  It’s been on my “tbr” list way too long.

Join in the fun and link your list back to MizB’s original post!

13 Comments

Filed under reading

13 responses to “www Wednesday (May 8)

  1. I’m going to have to pick up The 25th Hour. I was a World Book Night giver this year and gave away his City of Thieves and thoroughly enjoyed his writing.

    • You should try it. The movie is simply called, “Hour.” I absolutely loved City of Thieves, which is what brought me to this one. Thanks for visiting!

  2. I’ve been curious about State of Wonder. I’ll be looking forward to your review.

  3. Kwizgiver

    Oh, I LOVED State of Wonder! Patchett is one of my favorite authors.

    • I’ve also read “The Patron Saint of Liars” but unfortunately don’t remember it much. Others have bragged Patchett up big time, so I had to try this one. So far, so good. Thanks for commenting – I love visitors!

  4. I have both State of Wonder and Oscar Wao on my TBR, glad to hear they are good! Not sure when I will get to them…can’t wait for the lazy days of summer when its too hot to do much more than read 🙂

  5. I’m not really into Post-apocalyptic type stories but there have been a few that I liked I will check out your reads. Thanks for posting.

  6. Some great books there 😀

  7. I just finished listening to Patchett’s This is a Story of A Happy Marriage and really liked it. And my book group read Run. I really should read more of her work,

Leave a Reply

