www Wednesday – May 29

This meme is hosted by Should Be Reading.
To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?
*

My book club’s latest choice is A Hologram for the King by Dave Eggers, which I’ve just begun reading. I’ve long wanted to read his What Is the What but have yet to do so.

Another author I’ve recently come to like is Gillian Flynn, and I was listening to Dark Places until it came due at the library. I like dark, and it delivers, so I’ll definitely renew it when my reservation comes back around!

I just finished The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula le Guin from 1971. It could be claimed as one of the original ideas as far as post-apocalyptic fiction is concerned, and perhaps ground-breaking, but there are so many others I’ve enjoyed much more.

It’s only just been released, but I’ve been excited about Khaled Hosseini’s new book And the Mountains Echoed for quite a while now. His other two titles, The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, set a high bar for him to meet. I love that those books possibly introduced foreign worlds to some otherwise sheltered American readers who could then see the characters as real people instead of simply as exotic objects.

www_wednesdays

20 Comments

Filed under reading

20 responses to “www Wednesday – May 29

  1. Ooh I really want to read And The Mountains Echoed! Hope that you enjoy it!

  2. Hi Khaled Hosseini’s books have been on my radar for a while. Really must get to them. Thanks for visiting me.
    cheers
    Gwynn

  3. I hope you’ll enjoy your books, haven’t read any of them.

    I’m excited about the new book by Khaled Hosseini, too 🙂

  4. Kwizgiver

    I liked all of Gillian Flynn’s books. I didn’t think of listening to the audiobooks.

    • It seems to have been the same narrator for the female characters on the two I’ve heard, and she does a great job with the subject matter. Her reading style fits perfect with the disturbing behavior of those women!

  5. Haven’t read any of those so I will have to go check them out!

  6. Amazing books and authors on your list today. Love Gillian Flynn! Thanks for stopping by The Book Bag

  7. I don’t think I’ve heard of David Eggers or Gillian Flynn before. Might have to check them out at some point. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Denise @ Life With No Plot

  8. bookbunnys

    Gillian Flynn is one of my favourite authors! Have you read Gone Girl? If not, you definitely should, it’s her best book!! I have also liked Dark Places and Sharp Objects 🙂

  9. Hi Katy, I’m a big fan of Gillian Flynn after reading Gone Girl. Have Sharp Objects on my Kindle and Dark Places as a real book so must get to them soon! I loved Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns too, and believe it or not I STILL haven’t read The Kite Runner – my TBR list is sooo long.

    • I like A Thousand Splendid Suns better than The Kite Runner because of its subject matter, but I still really like TKR. And to think he wrote then on his “off time” from being a doctor!

  10. I read and enjoyed The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, but I haven’t read either of his other books yet. Hope you enjoy(ed) your reads!

Leave a Reply

