2014 Women Challenge self-reminder

Women ChallengeValentina issued the 2014 Women Challenge and I am bumped it up to Wonder Woman this year in planning to read 20 or more titles written by female authors. My count stands at only ten, so I need to put my cape and gold bracelets on and read!  

Titles read so far:

Vampires in the Lemon Grove: Stories by Karen Russell

Black and Blue by Anna Quindlen

MaddAddam (MaddAddam Trilogy #3) by Margaret Atwood

Their Eyes were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

Pigs in Heaven (Greer Family #2) by Barbara Kingsolver

Molly by Sandra White

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? And Other Concerns by Mindy Kaling

The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh (reviewed here)

Fledgling by Octavia E. Butler

Hippie Boy: A Girl’s Story by Ingrid Ricks

And I’m currently reading:

TMI Mom: Oversharing My Life by Heather Davis

The pick for my book club next month is The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty. It sounds a little like chick lit, but I’ve been assured it is much more than that. My “to be read” list also includes a new title being released by Margaret Atwood, Stone Mattress, some Virginia Woolf, and other great female writers, so I’m confident in my ability to meet Valentina’s challenge. I’m not scared!

It’s not too late – you can join, too! Link up and share your titles to support female authors.

5 Comments

Filed under reading

5 responses to “2014 Women Challenge self-reminder

  1. Kir Piccini

    I am a HUGE fan of Liane Moriarty and The Husband’s Secret was a fantastic book.
    I am currently reading “The Interestings” by Wolitzer and it is very good. Extremely good. I don’t-want-it-to-end good.

    Have you read “The Goldfinch” yet? While it wasn’t my favorite book of the year it was very good.

    • I haven’t read “The Goldfinch” yet and hesitated because of its length – ugh! It’s funny to realize how few female authors I read in comparison to male. I never realized it until I took this challenge.

      • Kir Piccini

        Katy,
        if you take The Goldfinch and read it (like I did) in spurts and treating it like 3 novellas in one, I think you will really enjoy it.

        It took me a while to warm up to it but once I did it was a lovely piece of writing.

  2. Hi Katy,
    The Husband’s Secret is really engaging! You will enjoy. I’m with Kir on The Goldfinch. I think I liked it a bit more than she did. I believe I am headed out today to secure a copy of The Stone Mattress, and I am getting ready to start Into the Lighthouse by Wolfe.

Leave a Reply

