www Wednesdays (May 15)

www_wednesdaysThis weekly reading meme is hosted by Should Be Reading.
To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?
My answers haven’t changed much since last week.  I am currently listening to State of Wonder by Ann Patchett for my book club meeting this weekend.  The author has a flourish for words, and I’m enjoying the audio version very much!  Lots of readers have recommended her other work to me, too.
I am finishing up Earth Abides by George R. Stewart, so I’m going to call it good.  Besides the absence of a some type of historical media record the survivors could reference, this EOTWAWKI account could almost be modern regardless of the 1947 copyright.  It’s more or less based on the Bible verse, “Men go and come, but earth abides.”  We could be gone, but the earth will keep going without us.
A list of “must read” Utopian/Dystopian titles I once saw included The Lathe of Heaven by Ursula le Guin, and I’ve wanted to pick it up since then.  So it’s next!
And…
What are you reading this week?  Join in and link back to MizB!
6 Comments

Filed under reading

6 responses to “www Wednesdays (May 15)

  1. It is kind of sad when our reading world slows down, isn’t it? Hopefully you are enjoying what you are reading.

    Here’s my WWW.

  2. Hi Katy, always nice finding new blogs. I guess that’s the purpose of memes. yours is beautiful, by he way. Thanks for visiting me.
    Have a good day.
    cheers
    Gwynn

  3. I have yet to read any Ursula le Guin, though I know she’s a major sci fi author. I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I’ve had Earth Abides on my wishlist for a while, glad to hear you’re enjoying it. thanks for stopping by ❤

  5. The Lathe of Heaven is extraordinary. It’s one of her best books. Incredible use of the Beatles”I get by with a little help from my friends”

  6. I haven’t heard of any of these books, but State of Wonder sounds kind of interesting.

Leave a Reply

