Musing Mondays (May 7)

This week’s musing asks…

If you were going to write a book, what would you write about? Would it be fiction, or nonfiction?

This particular topic actually inspired the creation of my wordpress blog!  I’ve self-published a novella through Kindle Direct Publishing and plan to use that route again in the future.  My long, drawn-out 2011 NaNoWriMo project is still dragging its feet in the editing process.

My desire to become a writer is suffused only by my love of reading.  Reading is what feeds my love of words and spurs me to keep trying to write more and more.

I digress … I would like to write more mystery/thriller stories.  The sky is the limit, in my opinion, as far as fiction goes.  Critics can’t discredit what someone else creates in their own imagination.  They can argue whether they find the characters or action believable, but every reader has her/his own perspective.

Writers who master these seemingly realistic or surreal premises and riveting plot lines are the stimulus of my creative spirit.  Whereas I may not ever be an inventor comparable to the likes of Neil Gaiman or Roddy Doyle,  my personal commitment is to keep trying.

Serendipitous to this post, a quote from one of my favorite people popped up after writing it.  The quote read, “I do not like to write – I like to have written.” Gloria Steinem

Another great MizB inspired meme!

9 Comments

Filed under writing

9 responses to “Musing Mondays (May 7)

  1. Kwizgiver

    What a great Steinem quote! And good luck with the writing.

  2. I’ve been thinking of going the ebook self-published route too. Good luck with your writing.

  3. SynthesistChronicles

    I would love to eventually write a book about my incredibly bizarre life. I don’t think that I quite have the courage to do that yet, since it means (a) being so emotionally exposed, (b) it means being brutally honest in exposing the actions of others, (c) I’m not sure about some legal liability issues. I’m working on the first one, the other two seem even more overwhelming. Do you ever contemplate writing non-fiction? Or have any advice about dealing these stumbling blocks? Really, any and all feedback would be very welcome.

    • Handling those issues is tough! There is so much scrutiny of a writer’s creativity and writing ability/style when writing fiction that it’s probably even worse with non-fiction. I imagine readers then picking apart the plausibility of all facts and being even more particular about the personal aspects of someone’s work. Those are the main reasons I’ve stayed away from non-fiction.
      The legality is yet another issue. Writing fiction can include aspects of actual events or people but not represent any one actual thing or person (without defamation) with a disclaimer of such. The way I look at it is that inspiration has to come from somewhere. What better place than from what you know? I guess the biggest issue is libel claims.
      I like the access to information I found here:
      http://www.scu.edu/ethics/publications/submitted/fiction.html.

      • SynthesistChronicles

        Thank you so much for the insight! I’ve only recently started to seriously considering sharing my stories. As I realize more and more how much hearing other people’s stories of survival from traumatic events has helped me, I would love to be able to help break that silence and barrier of isolation for others as well. However, I don’t really know where to start. For now I’m just practicing learning more about myself through blogging and enjoying the amazing people here in the blogging community, like yourself! Good luck with the new book project. I’m sure it will be great.

  4. That’s a really great quote and answer. Thanks for stopping by yesterday.

  5. If you keep trying and keep loving what you do (even if you don’t always like the editing part) then you’re on the right track. Thrillers are a great genre. Is the NaNo that you’re editing now a thriller?

    • It’s a semi-thriller, albeit not a total “thrill ride” throughout, and is kind of YA. The story is about an outspoken new freshman’s first year at college in a different environment and her coming-of-age experiences.

      I had started it back in November during NaNoWriMo and not gotten through the editing process since I work full-time. Our home computer is super old and monopolized by my husband! A new notebook computer is definitely in my future.

Leave a Reply

