WWW Wednesday (June 6)

This is a weekly bookish meme from MizB at Should be Reading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I am reading We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver right now.  It’s disturbing enough that I can only stand it in little chunks.  Every parent must somehow at some time in their parenthood worry that their child might not grow up to be the angel you hope they continue to be.  That’s why I can only take this book in small doses.

Otherwise, I’m listening to Sellevision by Augusten Burroughs on CD.  It adds a little humor to my drive after I’m depressed from reading the book listed previously!

What did you recently finish reading?

I just finished Wool 5: Stranded by Hugh Howey, an excellent dystopian climax to the Wool series.  There is a “prequel,” First Shift – Legacy, I intend to read, too.  I hope many more post-apocalypse and dystopia fans discover Howey’s work!

What do you think you’ll read next?

Even though I’ve had this title on my Kindle since I first bought it three years ago, I still have yet to read Uglies by Scott Westerfeld.  It kicked off a YA series that I’m not sure about following, but this one was free.  Why not?

5 Comments

Filed under reading

5 responses to “WWW Wednesday (June 6)

  1. I only just started listening to audiobooks and find that I like humor for audiobooks, whereas in my regular reading, I prefer more drama.
    http://wellreadfish.blogspot.com/2012/06/www-wednesday.html

  2. I would like to read “We need to talk about Kevin”, because I have seen the movie and I liked it soooo much!

    You can find my WWW post here http://www.peekabook.it/2012/06/www-wednesdays-june-06.html

    Happy reading! 🙂

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it/

  3. I think I might skip the Shriver book. I’ve got it on my wish list but a friend didn’t care for the movie.

  4. I have Sellavision on my TBR shelf – I like Augusten Burroughs – heard him speak when he came to Australia a few years back – have read all his other work.

    • I would love to hear him read some of his work, as his audio versions are the best! We heard David Sedaris read from Chipmunk Seeks Squirrel last year at the Univ. of Arkansas. So much fun! Sellevision is read by someone else since it’s not a memoir, but it’s fun so far.

Leave a Reply

